Taking an Inventory of My Future.

Let me start by apologizing for the lack of posts over the last few weeks. I have been busy on the hunt for my next great employment opportunity, with several interviews in between. I am waiting to hear back from one organization in particular, as I was STOOPID excited when I got the call for a phone interview for the position for which I applied, was in near-panic attack mode when I got the call for an in-person interview with the manager of the team for which I (hopefully) will be working (as well as a high-ranking member of the organization), and nearly shit my pants when I got the call for the second in-person interview with another high-ranking member of the organization. The job sounds awesome from what I read about it and learned in the interview, and the commute would be amazing! Fingers, eyes, toes, arms, and knees crossed for me, please!

So today, I’m taking advantage of this market readiness program provided by a company called Right Management, and is paid for by my former company. If you have ever seen the movie Up in the Air, the company appears to be similar to the one for which George Clooney’s character worked, only no one flew out from Bumfuck, Egypt to terminate my and my team’s employment. My former company is not that obnoxious; plus, the service is paid for by the company, which is pretty neat. I had forgotten that the information for this company was provided to us in our “transition packets.” I suppose I was blinded by the anger and panic I experienced at having my livelihood impacted. Anyway, I just completed a battery of assessments to help me identify my strengths, interests, values, and drivers, and the results are kind of interesting. Granted, some things I knew, but there are other things that were a bit of a surprise. My “key strengths,” which are identified based on high enjoyment and high interest level, are:

● People – Development
● Problem Solving
● Self Management
● Communication
● People – Leadership / Management
● Supporting / Customer Service
● Administration / Operations
● Creative / Conceptual
● Entrepreneurship / Leadership

My area of “low relevance,” based on low skill and low enjoyment, is:

● Technology

Now, I figured that “People – Development” would be high on the list of key strengths, if not the top, as my interests are in human resources, organizational development, staff development, and training, my Bachelor’s degree is in psychology, and my Master’s degree will be in industrial/organizational psychology. However, I was a little surprised at the “low relevance” area. Now, one would think, “How does a blogger not have enjoyment in technology, considering that that is the medium through which she shares her thoughts, as well as not have any skill in that area?” Well, I believe that it is more so the “technical” aspects of technology in which I have little interest, skill, or enjoyment – things like programming, troubleshooting, software development, and so on. I have no desire to do any of that. I would rather staple my tongue and fill the holes with Liquid Paper than do that.

I do enjoy website design, though, which is probably why “Creative / Conceptual” is one of my key strengths. I am getting reacquainted with HTML/CSS thanks to this program called Dash by a tech company/school called General Assembly. It’s really neat, too. There are five projects to complete, each containing four modules or assignments. I am on the third project now, and I am really digging it! Who knows…Perhaps I’ll start freelance designing again! Click here and here to see my completed projects!

That’s all for now. But, I will be posting about my AWESOME experience last night at Stevie Wonder’s Songs in the Key of Life Performance. Sheer brilliance.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

